UA Alumni and Faculty In Exhibit Celebrating Alabama’s Art

A unique and historic exhibition at the Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts that includes UA art alumni and faculty opens November Pete Schulte installing a drawing at the MMFA.17. Uncommon Territory: Contemporary Art in Alabama honors the 200th anniversary of Alabama’s organization as a United States territory in 1817. The exhibition, Uncommon Territory, recognizes 30 artists/collaborative teams in a survey that showcases a cross-section of the exciting and challenging art currently produced in the state. The exhibition opens Friday, November 17 and runs through January 21, 2018.

Works by UA Department of Art and Art History MFA alumni Clayton Colvin, Claire Lewis Evans, Amy Feger, Jamey Grimes (also UA faculty), Darius Hill and studio faculty Pete Schulte and Sky Shineman are included in the exhibition. A reception for the artists will be held Thursday, November 30 at 5:30 pm at the museum. At 7 pm, exhibition curator Jennifer Jankauskas will moderate a panel discussion with artists Katie Baldwin, Claire Lewis Evans, Stacey Holloway and Jürgen Tarrasch to reflect on their diverse ways of working.

According to the MMFA’s website, “Focusing on new and innovative works produced within the last few years, this survey demonstrates not only a commitment to community and place, but also a dedication to highlighting new viewpoints and practices.” MMFA’s press release states, “Many of the selected artists demonstrate sustained levels of significant accomplishment both in and out of the state while others at the beginning of their careers display growth and distinction. Each of the artists creates art that is relevant at this precise moment and contributes to the current vitality of artistic creativity found throughout the state.”

Sky Shineman Pete Schulte profile pic 2016; Drawing

The complete list of artists in the exhibition: Katie Baldwin; Aaron Tennessee Benson; Annie Campbell; Merrilee Challiss; Clayton Colvin; Colleen Comer; Claire Lewis Evans; Amy Feger; Will Fenn and Molly Freeman; Ryan Foster; Jamey Grimes; Darius Hill; Stacey Holloway; Chintia Kirana; Carlton Nell; Cary Norton and Jared Ragland; Irby Pace; Elisabeth Pellathy; E. Bruce Phillips, Jr.; Amy Pleasant; Pete Schulte; Sky Shineman; Greg Skaggs; Lee Somers; Jürgen Tarrasch; Pamela Venz; Cindy Wagner; Michael Willett; Rachel Wright and Tanner Young.

For more information about Uncommon Territory, call the MMFA at 334.240.4333 or visit the website at See photos of the installation on Facebook.

For more information about The University of Alabama’s programs in studio art and art history, go here: